If referee Andre Marriner reports that he missed the first-half incident, the Tottenham skipper could face retrospective action
HARRY KANE could MISS the north London derby after appearing to headbutt Chelsea captain Cesar Azpilicueta at Stamford Bridge.
If referee Andre Marriner reports that he missed the first-half incident, the Tottenham skipper could face retrospective action – and faces a three-match ban.
A three-man FA panel is set to look at the incident on Thursday and decide whether Tottenham’s England captain should be charged retrospectively.
Any suspension would rule him out of Saturday’s derby with arch-rivals Arsenal.
Referee Marriner seemed to miss the first-half drama and did not book either Kane or Azpilicueta.
But SunSport’s former Premier League referee Mark Halsey insisted: “Kane was lucky not to be sent off.
“He clearly moved his head into Azpilicueta’s face and pictures show he made contact.”
Kane had a bust-up with the opposing captain as the pair came together after a strong challenge on Eden Hazard.
The pair exchanged words before Kane seemed to push his head into Azpilicueta’s face.
Chelsea went onto win 2-0 at Stamford Bridge, Pedro scoring a brilliant solo strike and Kieran Trippier a horror own goal.
Fans reacted on Twitter as they suggested Kane was lucky to remain on the pitch after his headbutt.
One said: “Soooo Kane …red card ….oh no wait …it’s England’s favourite son …so his headbutt must of been friendly.”
Another wrote: “How did Harry Kane not get a red card??!!!”
Another added: “Harry Kane just tried to headbutt Azpilicueta. Stay classy Tottenham.”
Maurizio Sarri gives warning to his players that he is the boss as he drops rebel keeper Kepa
Kepa DROPPED by Sarri from Chelsea team to face Spurs